Top Image

Document Authentication/Verification and German Translations

Document authentication and verification

International documents must be submitted in the original or be verified (or notarized) as a copy of the original. Regardless of where the school-leaving (=Reifeprüfungszeugnis) certificate was issued, all documents must additionally be certified as a “true copy of the original”:

  • Due to a bilateral agreement, verification procedures do not apply to documents issued from the following countries (however, all documents must be submitted in the original or as a verified "true" copy of the original):
    • Belgium
    • Bosnia and Herzegovina
    • Bulgaria
    • Croatia
    • Czech Republic
    • Estonia
    • Finland
    • France
    • Germany
    • Hungary
    • Italy
    • Liechtenstein
    • Macedonia
    • Montenegro
    • Netherlands
    • Norway
    • Poland
    • Romania
    • Serbia
    • Slovakia
    • Slovenia
    • Sweden

  • Documents issued by contracting states of the so-called “Hague Convention Abolishing The Requirements of Legalisation for Foreign Public Documents“ must be verified with an APOSTILLE. The verification, in the form of apostille, is to be issued by the foreign ministry or Foreign Office of the issuing country in regards to the documents involved or issued by the proper authorities from the foreign ministry. The Apostille must be submitted in the original.
    To see if a country is a member of this convention, please refer to this link:
    Haager Apostille - zuständige Behörden

  • Documents issued by countries not listed above must be submitted with complete diplomatic verification. For this purpose, the documents' authenticity must be verified by the foreign ministry of the country in which the documents were issued and also verified by the Austrian consulate or embassy in that country.

German Translations

Foreign language documents must be submitted with a German translation (unless the responsible authorities have issued the documents in English) prepared by an official translator/interpreter certified in Austria. If the documents have already been translated outside of Austria, applicants must submit the documents in the same procedure as other foreign documents.

Top Image

Beglaubigung/Legalisierung und Übersetzung fremdsprachiger Dokumente

Beglaubigung der Dokumente

Die ausländischen Dokumente müssen in jedem Fall im Original oder in beglaubigter Kopie eingereicht werden. Abhängig von dem Ausstellungsstaat des jeweiligen Reifeprüfungszeugnisses müssen die Dokumente noch zusätzlich auf die Echtheit beglaubigt werden:

  • Bei Zeugnissen aus den folgenden Ländern entfallen aufgrund bilateraler Abkommen die Beglaubigungen auf die Echtheit (Dokumente müssen aber im Original oder in beglaubigter Kopie eingereicht werden):
    • Belgien
    • Bosnien und Herzegowina
    • Bulgarien
    • Deutschland
    • Estland
    • Finnland
    • Frankreich
    • Italien
    • Kroatien
    • Liechtenstein
    • Mazedonien
    • Montenegro
    • Niederlande
    • Norwegen
    • Polen
    • Rumänien
    • Schweden
    • Serbien
    • Slowakei
    • Slowenien
    • Tschechische Republik
    • Ungarn

  • Urkunden aus den Vertragsstaaten des so genannten „Haager Beglaubigungsabkommens“ müssen mit der APOSTILLE beglaubigt werden. Die Beglaubigung in Form der Apostille wird durch das Außenministerium des Ausstellungsstaates des betreffenden Dokumentes oder einer vom Außenministerium dazu berechtigten Behörde ausgestellt. Die Apostille ist in jedem Fall im Original vorzulegen.
    Ob ein Staat Mitglied dieses Beglaubigungsübereinkommens ist, lässt sich in dessen Vertretungsbehörde (Konsulat bzw. Botschaft) erfragen. Vergleichen Sie bitte hierzu auch folgenden Link:
    Haager Apostille - zuständige Behörden

  • Sofern kein Abkommen bezüglich Beglaubigungen besteht – also bei allen Staaten die zuvor nicht genannt wurden - sind die Dokumente (Zeugnisse) in jedem Fall auf die Echtheit beglaubigt durch die zuständige Behörde des Ausstellungsstaates (Außenministerium) und letztbeglaubigt durch die österreichische Vertretungsbehörde (österreichische Botschaft), vorzulegen.

Übersetzung

Fremdsprachigen Dokumenten (sofern diese nicht von der zuständigen Behörde auf Englisch ausgestellt wurden) sind deutsche Übersetzungen eines in Österreich gerichtlich beeideten Dolmetschers beizufügen. Werden die Dokumente im Ausland übersetzt, sind die Übersetzungen auf dieselbe Weise wie die Dokumente zu beglaubigen.